A non-experience with an ouija board

.

Seance

.

They Can be Even Stranger

Than We Might Think

(I now prefer not to be around one)

 In the 60’s when the paranormal world was new – new to us, that is – our son, G, was so thrilled with his experience  with his two best friends and their ouija board that he rushed home to show me his discovery.

I watched G’s friends try it, but it didn’t work! So G tried it with one of them. No soap. G tried it with the other. Still didn’t work. Then I tried it with each of them, one after the other, with no results. They took it to an outside table and reported back that it was working normally, so I went out and tried it again with each of them, but — no dice.

G has never been known to lie to us. He has dodged questions, but we know of no instance when he told an untruth. So, though the subject was new to me, I believed the excited and seemingly dumbfounded boys.

 A few months later we met Jen.  I’ve told of her here: https://otherearsothertongues.wordpress.com/category/jen/ I asked her why an ouija board would fail to work for anyone in my house, and for me anywhere. She closed her eyes for a bit as she always did when seeking answers from another realm and then said that it was because I was protected.

 I later got the chance to ask Brad Steiger, who is known for his vast research into the paranormal.  He seemed pretty sure that it was because, at some time in a past life, I had an experience which caused the higher me to keep me away from such phenomena.

 I like both answers.

 Then, still later, I shot a photo, which can be seen here: https://otherearsothertongues.wordpress.com/2013/06/27/the-good-from-my-series-spirit-mesa-the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly-photos/, and which shows, in our house, something white with a beam of light shooting from it. Thinking of the several photos I have taken which showed inexplicable things, and thinking of the fact that I have always felt protected, I like to think of this photo as an image of a protector.

 Yup. I like that idea.

.

.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ouijaboardstories
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 14:56:21

    Interesting report, however, long ago the ouija was perceived as just a game of entertainment; but in time people began to actually believe that there is a real ghost connection involved – but it probably takes a psychologist to debunk the claims properly.

    More details about the ‘ideomotor effect’ are reported here:
    http://ouijaboardsonline.com/Ouija/ouija.htm

    🙂

    Reply

  2. nelladell
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 17:23:25

    Ouijaboardstories, it’s nice to see you here, More than one explanation for this phenomenon has been brought forward, and I thank you for pointing out this one.

    Reply

Leave a comment